Possible Vanish fix announced for 3.3

So after 4+ years

http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/thread.html?topicId=20136596247&pageNo=3&sid=1#44

From Blizzard dev and forum poster Ghostcrawler:

“We have a change for Vanish in place for 3.3. You will get to try it out soon ™. As promised, if it proves a significant buff to rogues, we may have to compensate elsewhere. Just because it hasn’t worked as intended doesn’t mean it will be balanced when it does.”

The wording of this statement actually makes me wish they’d leave things alone. 😉

Rogue NPCs

NPCs (NonPlayer Characters) add a ton of atmosphere to the game. As a rogue, I love seeing the class through the eyes of Blizzard via the Rogues you run into in game. The SI:7 headquarters under the leadership of Mathias Shaw and “The Shiv” or the Ravenholt headquarters. These all add some depth to my chosen class.

However, my most favorite Rogue NPC has to be Lonika Stillblade in the World’s End Tavern in Shattrath City. You cannot beat this former Rogue Academy leader’s advice for a bit of Rogue “flavor”

1. “Swords, claws, daggers, of course. I’ve trained rogues in the use of them all. Now maces, I won’t touch maces and I won’t instruct any rogue who gets it in his head to wield one. There’s nothing stealthy about a mace. You’re in for a noisy kill and a long cleanup if you go that route.”

2. “The trick to using evasion is realizing that the best fifteen seconds of your life are often the last.”

3. “My early classes are always filled with bright-eyed young lads. Few make it past the first test, though. I’ve given up on shouting, ‘when I yell vanish, you NEED to vanish.’ They never listen. Now, the test simply kills the inept.”

4. “Never leave home without ample supplies of flash powder, especially when working with others. I guarantee someone will run out every time. When the choice comes down to handing out materials or letting the poor sap die, I help…most of the time.”

5.”When I first set up my rogue academy in Shattrath, it wasn’t nearly this crowded. Then, the refugees started flooding in and the Naaru needed every available building to house them. I’ve closed the doors to my academy for now, but it’s not permanent. I’ll find a new place to set up. Then, a new generation of rogues will learn such staples as the gouge n’grin, combat looting, and blaming someone else for breaking polymorph. And who can forget the central rule of roguery — real rogues don’t feint.”

I wonder what Lonika thinks of axes? This feisty Night Elf entrepreneur’s quotes make me giggle. Her curriculum will need an update though…in WotLK real rogues do you use feint, the trick is to use it well but not too often. The gouge n’grin and passing blame will never go out of style. 😉